Shop Ideas and must haves July 13, 2022 01:52AM
Will be starting to build a new shop in the near future. Looking for ideas advice on layout, construction type, door placement, loft storage, living space, air system, lifting devices, etc. what are things you have done or wish you have done in the process. Looking to try to get it as close to right the first time that I can. Does anyone have hydraulic power lift doors inplace of conventional overhead doors? Would like to accommodate for a small airplane in the future. Building will be roughly 60’x80’x18’ in size looking at going conventional wood framing on top of concrete footing. Any ideas, advice, pictures all appreciated. Thanks

Re: Shop Ideas and must haves July 13, 2022 02:38AM
I build barns for a living and the best advice I can give is to build as big as you can afford and have room for,I’m always going back and adding on which always cost more the second time
A 40’ bi-fold would be best for an airplane

Re: Shop Ideas and must haves July 21, 2022 12:50AM
Radiant heat in the floor. Plan lighting like you are doing brain surgery. I always wished I put windows in for some natural light. But I understand the security aspect of it.

Re: Shop Ideas and must haves July 23, 2022 03:03AM
I told myself when I built my I want to heat it in the dead of winter and I wanted to cool it in the heat of the summer and I can. 42 x 56 x 16. I also said i wanted outlets every 8 foot. I also sprayed 1" of foam and put 6" of batt insulation in the walls. I also put 16" of insulation above the ceiling. I opted to put 3/4" osb board on the walls and painted it, that way where ever I wanted to mount something to the wall, it was sturdy and I did not have the metal ribs to deal with. I also ran all my electrical in conduit as that took a lot of preplaning out of running the romex in the walls before they got covered up.
Wayne

Re: Shop Ideas and must haves July 24, 2022 02:57PM