turbo alcohol build AC d17 December 03, 2015 10:47AM
Hi fellow pullers, i am thinking about building a 292 chevy truck engine for my d17 to pull in open speed classes, kind of like a llss class. i am new to alcohol so i want to get some input from somebody that has built alcohol engines. i would like to stay with one turbo. any input would be great. thanks

Re: turbo alcohol build AC d17 December 03, 2015 01:23PM
That 292 chevy wont take much of a turbo You better get a 301ac

Re: turbo alcohol build AC d17 December 03, 2015 02:02PM
[www.youtube.com]

So a 292 Chevy won't take much of a turbo??

Re: turbo alcohol build AC d17 December 03, 2015 02:43PM
Umh... nice video but it says 19 lbs. of boost! 19... 19... ONLY 19... that's not too impressive. An AC301 can take a serious beating and would be money better spent. If you go the Chevy route I wish you luck but I think you be much happier in the long run with the 301. Plus you'd actually have something that's legal in more places so it has resale value.

Re: turbo alcohol build AC d17 December 04, 2015 12:39AM
I think that truck is pretty cool in the videos, but as stated above I would go with the Allis engine. It would give you the option of pulling it in a LLSS class in the future and probably make it easier to sell when you want too. It's a lot of money to spend on a engine to run in a couple brush pulls. Look close at the dyno video. All that custom plumbing is expensive not to mention the internal parts.

Re: turbo alcohol build AC d17 December 04, 2015 03:12AM
I agree with going to the 301 allis motor, my father and I used to pull a 180 with 3 chargers running average of 135 pounds of boost on diesel with oem head and block and got a long real well, very tough little block

Re: turbo alcohol build AC d17 December 04, 2015 02:38PM
How do you keep a crankshaft in a 301 AC??...Several 180's in my area had lots of crankshaft problems when ran hard and are no longer being pulled..