Building a LLSS. Using 5.9 cummins on alcohol
Looking for some advice
Stock rods harden,will they hold up
Best fuel pump oil pump to use?
Counterbalanced crank needed??
Is a girdle a must?

Thanks for any help.

Re: 5.9 cummins alcohol build April 19, 2020 06:39AM
Since nobody has helped out I'll chime in with my NON-expert opinion and maybe someone will follow-up with much better advice. Waterman Bertha for the fuel pump (hopefully somebody will chime-in with the size... will a Lil Bertha feed a LLSS?). Is a Girdle ever really a bad idea? Seems like cheap insurance. Same goes for a counterbalanced crank, is it ever a bad idea? Hardened stock rods should be just fine (if I remember correctly that's what was in a 3-turbo 5.9 that I worked on many eons ago... as a side note I think it had an Enderle -5 fuel pump on it) but you can probably go lighter with a nice set of billet rods and lighten up your rotating assembly.

Again, I'm no expert I'm just trying to get the conversation started, there are guys who have forgotten much much more than I'll ever know and hopefully they will share some of their knowledge.

As a side note: what sheetmetal are you going to run?

Jake Morgan
Owner, PULLOFF.COM
Independent Pulling News

This page is a free service. The cost is covered out of my pocket. It takes a great deal of time and a fair amount of money to keep this website going. Donations for: photos, classified ads, forum discussion, etc... are appreciated.