Need advice on building an IH puller August 14, 2013 11:31AM
Hello all. First time poster. Hopefully you guys can help me out.

I'm pretty new to tractor pulling. Been around it all my life just never built one.

I'm wanting to build a 3000 rpm turbo tractor to pull in the 9500/10500 class.

Is an IH 706/806 a good platform to start with? Is the rear end gearing good enough or should I go a different route?

I'm wanting to build a DT466 to power the tractor. I have heard some blocks are better, ie roller motor. What's the best block to start with? Will this engine already be p pumped? What turbo should I expect to buy or at least a rough idea? I have also been told that I can mix crank, rod, and pistons to get more ci; which ones?

Where should Is the best place to look for trans parts?

Thanks for any help and I'm sure I will have more questions.

Re: Need advice on building an IH puller August 14, 2013 11:48AM
Awww man everyones got one of them! Lol, just kidding, there should be lots of help on here

Re: Need advice on building an IH puller August 14, 2013 11:49AM
The farm has always been IH so it's the only way to go!

Re: Need advice on building an IH puller August 14, 2013 12:15PM
either one will work just be sure what ring gear it has before you start. if I was you go ahead and have the diff needled. turbo depends on class rules and pump you will use. precision allied atlas hyper d&r wipeout all have gears just to name a few. as far as a block any 466 will work fine at 3000 rpm . hope this helps

Re: Need advice on building an IH puller August 14, 2013 12:17PM
Really hoping to find a roller motor and start with it. What gear do I want for 3000? Turbo rules are 3 in 3 out. The pump will be a p pump just not sure of cc's yet.

Re: Need advice on building an IH puller August 14, 2013 02:01PM