what tractor to start with ?? -new to pulling August 13, 2011 09:23AM
Hey everyone I am new to the pulling world and want to build a pulling tractor. I have some friends into it and they are running 1066s in super stock. To be honest I just cant afford to buy a nice 1066 then build it. I have also seen some ih560s with dt466 swaps and cummins 6bt swaps. I know these 560s can be bought cheap but from what I have read the rearends and transmissions dont hold up to alot of power. Just looking for opinions of what I should build. All said and done I would like to be into something for around 10k. I can do all the work myself no problem just not sure what tractor is the best affordable starting point. I dont want to build a 560 if I cant keep the rearend togther. Any information or help is appreciated cause Iam new to all of this like I said.

Thanks !!

Re: what tractor to start with ?? -new to pulling August 13, 2011 12:03PM
You are going to have a very tough time building any pulling vehicle for 10K. What organization are you planning on running with? Do you want a tractor or truck? I know you can build a street stock or altered stock 4x4 for 10-15K. Garden tractors are going to run you over 10K.

Re: what tractor to start with ?? -new to pulling August 13, 2011 12:53PM
Minneapolis Moline would be your best bet.Thumbs Up

Re: what tractor to start with ?? -new to pulling August 13, 2011 01:02PM
pss1175
You are going to have a very tough time building any pulling vehicle for 10K. What organization are you planning on running with? Do you want a tractor or truck? I know you can build a street stock or altered stock 4x4 for 10-15K. Garden tractors are going to run you over 10K.

I just want to run local fairs. Nothing crazy. I think I can build something decent for around 10k ish. Iam not looking to go run any circuit or anything. Just looking to have some fun at the local level.

Re: what tractor to start with ?? -new to pulling August 13, 2011 01:22PM