Tips on Filling a Cylinder Head August 24, 2011 04:43AM
This is my first time filling a cylinderhead. I have bought a cpl bags of Embecco 885 and was wondering on the best way to do it. I am thinking of making a plate across the face of the head and pouring it in the thermostat hole. Should I warm up the head first or is there a trick to agitating it?

Thanks for the help.

Re: Tips on Filling a Cylinder Head August 24, 2011 01:14PM
I made a plate to cover the thermostat hole and filled the head from the bottom side. That is how it was suggested to me by a friend that did one for his IH.

Hope that helps.

Re: Tips on Filling a Cylinder Head August 24, 2011 02:50PM
Might want to consider laying head flat like on the block, then take out freeze plugs on the top between head bolt holes and filling that way with a plate over all but a little gap on the thermostat hole so it will fill all the way.

Re: Tips on Filling a Cylinder Head August 24, 2011 03:52PM
I read some instructions for the Moroso jacket filler once, I believe they recommended using an air hammer with a blunt chisel to vibrate the casting to let the air bubbles work their way out. Never tried it though.

Re: Tips on Filling a Cylinder Head August 24, 2011 04:27PM
I have done a couple cylinder heads. Plate the deck surface. Leave the freeze plugs in the head. If using thermostat hole angle cylinder head at a 45 degree angle and make sure mixture is not to dry. Being a little soupy if better, but not too much. Pour smaller increments into head and tap cylinder head with a deadblow. Repeat process until cylinder head is full. I do not recommend heating head. Make sure water jackets are clean and free of oil. I have found this process to work very well

Author:

Your Email:

Subject:

Spam prevention: