Opening lifter bores for roller lifters January 09, 2009 12:18PM
I got some new roller lifters for a John Deere 466 block. I need to open up the stock John Deere lifter bores to accept these new lifters and also need to machine a rounded keyway for the little beads that keep them spinning in their bores. Does anyone know how they usually do this? Opening up the holes is no problem but am not sure on the keyways.

Re: Opening lifter bores for roller lifters January 09, 2009 12:27PM
I would assume your slots or keyway would be done just as normal key ways by using an broaching kit, same as key waying a hub or sprocket,a good machine shop should be able to do this for you.

Re: Opening lifter bores for roller lifters January 09, 2009 12:44PM
email me castners@castnersperformance.com

Re: Opening lifter bores for roller lifters January 09, 2009 01:03PM
I am an industrial machinist and am familiar with broaching keyways. The problem is that the lifter bores on a John deere 466 actually get smaller where the pushrod contacts the lifter and the push rod holes actually angle in toward the rocker arms. This doesn't leave any room to push the broach all the way through.

Re: Opening lifter bores for roller lifters January 09, 2009 03:01PM
Sounds like you have Crower SB Chevy lifters. 0.842 bore if I remember correctly. Crower sells a tool that you put thru the bores in pairs & run a drill bit down them. That leaves the half round 'broach'. Works fine.

Re: Opening lifter bores for roller lifters January 10, 2009 12:37AM
Oh the danger in offering advise with out personal contact with the other person, anyways the Crower system seems to be simple and effective solution, but the lifter bore spacing may be different on the JD then chevy requiring some mods to the tooling,good luck!

Re: Opening lifter bores for roller lifters January 10, 2009 03:38AM
the tie bar is a piece of round dowel rod. buy a piece of ground drill rod and you could do 2 lifter bores 35 inches apart.