282 international December 11, 2015 06:17PM
I've got a 282 international engine from a 656 international I'm wanting to build to pull are there any other internal components from a bigger engine that will fit this engine with out a lot of trouble I'm not looking for a lot of horse power something in the 175 to 180 range any help wis appreciated I'm new to internationals thanx

Re: 282 international December 12, 2015 09:40AM
better find a different engine, that will be a grenade for sure, head problems and only 4 mains = big boom save your money

Re: 282 international December 12, 2015 10:31AM
To bullet proof it will cost, Depends on your rules, RPM"s ? No matter what, the cup injectors will be your shortcomming. There maybe someone out there who has come up with something if so respond. As far as supporting the lower end I use a 2" girdle tied to the billet mains. The upper side has one less head bolt than the gas c301 so keeping it sealed can be a problem. We use copper head gasket, wire O ring in head and receiver grove in block, ARP studs.

Re: 282 international December 12, 2015 10:39AM
You won't need all what I said above if your running stock rpm's. We ran 6700rpm's with 12 to 1 compression ratio on alcohol NA. (no turbo). Stock compression ratio on that engine I believe as most diesel engines is 17 ti 1.

Re: 282 international December 13, 2015 12:42AM
I am just going to be pulling at our local pulls and probably won't be over 3500 rpms I was just wondering if any other stock international pistons and sleeves will fit this block with a little machine work maybe like a dt361 or 466 thanks for the helpful advice

Re: 282 international December 13, 2015 01:38AM