2 wheel drive pullers May 19, 2009 02:19PM
Just wondering, do any pulls allow 2 wheel drive trucks more of a stock nature or super stock for the low budget puller?
I know I have seen street 4x4 pulls and there is a class in NTPA for super stock but why not a 2 wheel drive for us broke folks to run in?
I've been pulling an antique for the last 5 years, but now these guys ae going nuts spending upwards of 10 grand to run an antique for
a three dollar trophy or maybe $25 payback. All build up parts are outrageously high for antiques but you could build a
good running 2 wheeler prett cheap.
Just wondering!!!

Re: 2 wheel drive pullers May 19, 2009 04:42PM
Dont know about the cheap part !!!
Where are you located at ???

Re: 2 wheel drive pullers May 19, 2009 05:19PM
I'm in Tennessee. What I mean is I can buy most any performance part I want at a reasonable price for say a small block Chevy or Ford
cams, headers , cranks and so forth. If I try to buy the same for an antique tractor it has to be custom built at a "custom" price. Since all us amatuers are just doing it for fun why should we have to hock the farm to afford to pull. I still enjoy pulling the antique but the number of entries is getting smaller every year partly due to the economy and maybe partly due to the fact some of us don't see throwing 10 grand or more at a hobby puller, if you will, for a $3 trophy. Basically drag racing has gone the same way there's not much "cheap" classes left so I thought maybe a sportsmant type 2 wheel drive class would be nice.

Re: 2 wheel drive pullers May 20, 2009 06:03AM
I don't know about in your area, but there are clubs out there that run a smaller TWD class. Check out some other sites to find out what the actual limitations are.

Rick

Re: 2 wheel drive pullers May 20, 2009 07:50AM
ORVTPA runs a 5800 SS 2wd class, go to the link to get rules...

[www.orvtpa.info]

Re: 2 wheel drive pullers May 20, 2009 01:16PM