Laminar vs turbulent flow.. January 25, 2016 03:07PM
Doing some reading, In a tube or pipe laminar flow will move more fluid than turbulent flow.. This is a well researched subject. Will this work downstream from a turbocharger? I assume that down stream from the turbo the air is VERY turbulent. Has anyone experimented with this?

Re: Laminar vs turbulent flow.. January 25, 2016 04:15PM
I believe you are talking in a diesel application, right?

Not sure on the turbo exit characteristics, I'd stand to be educated. I would be curious how fluid introduction matters. Given a diesel premise, would laminar flow be best? Or a turbulent flow that intermixes better with water-injection deriving a better cooling replacing maximum flow rates with a better-by-volume-density flow?

I have no first-hand knowledge either way, but please teach me.

CP

Re: Laminar vs turbulent flow.. January 25, 2016 10:24PM
Radial, or swirling flow, is slow. The faster you can get to laminar flow out the exhaust the better. The shortest way to get gasses out of the exhaust is when they are flowing in a straight line.

There's a reason for all these oversized stacks on tractors these days.They serve a purpose.

Re: Laminar vs turbulent flow.. January 26, 2016 02:27AM