3020 Gas to Diesel Conv. September 30, 2016 08:25AM
I inherited a (1968?) JD 3020 gasser. It is in great shape and was always stored inside. I have worked on it for hours and hours. Dealer too lol. Can't get it to run decent. I have decided to look into converting it to a diesel. I'm a diesel mechanic by trade so I should be able to handle it fine. I'm not familiar with these at all. Did the diesel run the same block as the gasser? If so, I'm assuming different head? I'm hoping it would be a possibility to install the diesel necessary parts to change to diesel. If not, where can a guy find a diesel engine for it. Needing a rebuild is not a problem. What other engines can be installed in this? I'm new to this forum and upon looking around it appears it is a pretty cool place. Thumbs Up

Re: 3020 Gas to Diesel Conv. September 30, 2016 11:08AM
A complete 3020 diesel engine will bolt in. Have to change throttle linkage, air intake from air cleaner, add a fuel return line to the tank and get a 12 volt diesel starter. These are the major items I can think of.

Re: 3020 Gas to Diesel Conv. September 30, 2016 02:31PM
I do not recommend trying to convert the gas engine to diesel, Deere did not use the same block, they had 3 mains instead of 5 with a different bore/stroke combo.

You would need a Diesel engine of course, the 270 is getting harder to find and I'm not the biggest fan of them. In addition to what was mentioned you will also need a diesel flywheel, possibly a diesel air clearer, they are larger on the early tractors.

I put a 239 in one, it is not the type of conversion you just throw together, takes a little thinking and a bunch of work.
Link to 3020 239 swap
Other replies to 3020 239 swap

Re: 3020 Gas to Diesel Conv. September 30, 2016 03:55PM
chadk66