IH low oil pressure problem May 31, 2017 06:55AM
Have just rebuilt my prostock motor with a different block (now using a newer type casting without the IH logo cast into the right hand side) I have been pulling the same class and same motor type for the last 12-15 years and always build the motor myself, so I know my way round it fairly well. However, went to start it and don't have hardly any oil pressure at all (puts the light out, but does not show any pressure on the gauge, have turned it over without the sender in and it only runs out with not much behind it). Bar the obvious, eg. Left a bearing shell out, (I'm anal when it comes to rebuilding, so I don't believe I've missed something like that!) etc am I missing something? Is the newer block different? I know the rear cam bearing/top end lubrication set up is not the same and have modified it to the same as the older block style by sleeving it and drilling out the gallery to feed the rocker shaft. I have fitted new core plugs in the front and rear of the main galleries, so I know that's not the issue. Am using an Aviaid pump which was rebuilt with a new shaft and seals ( have had this apart twice and it is assembled correctly!) My main question is , is there anything different internally between the newer and older blocks that I don't know about, extra plug or similar? Also any other ideas would be appreciated as its really got me baffled!Thanks

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/31/2017 06:58AM by dwayne.

Re: IH low oil pressure problem May 31, 2017 07:06AM
Could the block have an issue where the oil galleries are leaking through the casting internally?

Could you have an older supply hose that has deteriorated enough that its collapsing and starving the Aviad?

COO for OTTPA

www.outlawpulling.com

www.truck-specialties.com

Schaeffer Oil Representative

[www.schaefferoil.com]

Re: IH low oil pressure problem May 31, 2017 08:24AM