Draw through carb and turbo March 08, 2018 01:32PM
Ok I’m kind of new to this but I’m wanting to put a small turbo on my 303 John Deere engine with a four barrel carb. My question is does any special work need to be done to the carb to put it before the turbo and plumb it into the intake side of the charger or does any special work need to be done to the turbo to stand the fuel pulling through it? Any help would be appreciated thanks.

Re: Draw through carb and turbo March 08, 2018 02:45PM
Just have big enough jets and fuel pump.

Re: Draw through carb and turbo March 09, 2018 08:22AM
Make sure the turbo has a carbon seal on the compressor end of the shaft. If it uses a piston ring seal on the compressor end, it will suck oil out of the charger when the butterflies shut in the carb.

Re: Draw through carb and turbo March 09, 2018 01:33PM
Have run a 4LE, GT42 for years with no problems. MACK

Re: Draw through carb and turbo March 10, 2018 10:45AM
Been running this setup for 11 years.....have never had said issue with turbo seals. No special turbo required.

Re: Draw through carb and turbo March 11, 2018 06:31AM
Everybody on gas ran that setup back in the 70s & 80s corse we didnt know anything

Re: Anybody using blow-thru setup March 11, 2018 09:24AM
How much boost can you run on a blow thru setup? I was thinking of using a carb from C&S carbs in St. Charles, Missouri.
Can you build a single carb gasser at 360 cubes. to run against diesel at 6400 lbs. and 410 cubic inch with 3in 4out single charger?
Would this be a reliable setup?
How much boost, RPMs, do any of you guys run in a draw thru or blow thru setup run?

Re: Anybody using blow-thru setup March 11, 2018 10:22AM
I use to run this back in the 80s on a wd45 allis, mine wouldnt run with a 4 barrel had to have a 2 barrel, also you will want to lower your compression, you'll want an intercooler if your gonna run gas, i made about 50lbs of boost an ran about 4500 rpms.