IH Exhaust manifold question January 05, 2021 05:07AM
I am wondering what exhaust manifold I should use on my pulling tractor. I am new to running with a turbo & was wondering what the benefits are to different types.

It will be a 540 cubic with a 3x3 turbo and a P Pump. There are no restrictions for RPM's in the class I will be running.

Which one should I start with?
Stainless steel Header
Cast performance manifold. (Hypermax or others)

Re: IH Exhaust manifold question January 05, 2021 11:39AM
Id highly recommend giving corey bobb a call he makes a very nice header thats proven to make power.812-569-0089

Re: IH Exhaust manifold question January 05, 2021 12:29PM
You would be surprised how much power a stock IH manifold will make, especially with a smaller charger like the 3x3. I have never tested a custom manifold on a dyno compared to a stock one, but I'd be surprised if the difference is such that it would warrant the added expense with a 3x3. Now if you get into the bigger turbos, the im sure it would make a difference worth checking in on.

Re: IH Exhaust manifold question January 05, 2021 12:32PM
Just wanted to say, not putting down the fellows work that Josh mentioned above. I'm sure he does a great job. I was just sharing my opinion on a stock manifold. Please feel free to do and spend as you desire. Good luck on your build.

Re: IH Exhaust manifold question January 05, 2021 12:39PM
One other thing, We lost power with a 3x3 turbo and a Hyper prostock manifold just FYI. Thats why I question with the small charger if there is anything that would make a gain in hp over the stock manifold. Again, I'm sure there are better solutions with bigger chargers. Best wishes

Re: IH Exhaust manifold question January 05, 2021 01:26PM
You’re absolutely right a hyper header is way to big. Coreys was designed to work with smaller cubic inch and turbo classes. A stock manifold is a good choice also but if you’re wanting a header give him a call.