505 CI alcohol motor building advice ? August 29, 2009 01:12AM
I want to build a 505 CI alcholol motor single charger (i was thinking of T18A95) changing the bore and stroke to run a shelf aluminum rod and 4.5 flat top piston with stock head(flat) with spark plug inserts where injector were! I am a machinist so i planned on making spacer to eliminated side clearance on the narrower aluminum rods. What kind of compression ratio do they run ? I know alot depends on amount of boost. Anyone have any experience doing something similiar to this and what problems will arise? thanks

Re: 505 CI alcohol motor building advice ? August 29, 2009 01:33AM
shelf rods are not going to be heavy enough for a 6 cylinders torque if ur a machinest build the rods 7075-t6 1 turbo 95 not big enough for full potential use a older pro stock turbo 4.4 or so. and flat top pistons with out a combustion chamber doesnt usually work the best. bultimier makes a combustion chamber plate and attaches it to the head hope this helps

Re: 505 CI alcohol motor building advice ? August 29, 2009 11:47AM
that is awesome advice thats what i was looking for! I wish i could see a pic of bultimier combustion plate you are talking about because i hadnt thought about that before. any other idea about compression ratio? If i did built my own rods would you use a thru bolt and if so what from? I know that if you use capscrew bolt you have a certain amount thread depth and/or interference in the threads ( cant remember the term) so the capscrews wont come loose in aluminum rods! Wasnt this a problem when custom pulling rods were first being made?

Re: 505 CI alcohol motor building advice ? August 30, 2009 04:23AM
Put 4 automotive sized ARP bolts per cap intead of the 2 big ones Ag OEM's use. As long as you have enough thread engagement (I'd go with 2x bolt diameter min) you should be fine.

Author:

Your Email:

Subject:

Spam prevention: