IH Fire rings September 07, 2022 06:12AM
Hi everyone I am rebuilding my motor and putting in new sleeves does anyone have input on fire rings? We have always ran the wire style from sealtec but I’ve heard of some guys changing over to C rings are they worth the expense?

Re: IH Fire rings September 07, 2022 06:31AM
Im not an expert in this but from what I heard it is worth the expense as you can reuse them and they tend to hold up better. Just my 0.02

Re: IH Fire rings September 07, 2022 07:49AM
Interested in the differences and positives and minuses of each of those options. Heard of c-rings never seen much information on them.

Re: IH Fire rings September 07, 2022 03:06PM
No cons that I can say. Get what you pay for.. Reusable and last a lot longer, a lot has to do with the class you run as well. More needed for a higher hp application ie 4.1 vs a hotfarm. I hope you didn’t already cut the sleeves for fire rings..

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/07/2022 03:09PM by IHRED.

Re: IH Fire rings September 08, 2022 12:39AM
I’ve ran both in my hot farm tractor, we don’t make enough boost/ cylinder pressure for the c-rings to work properly like they would in a 540 light pro or 640 4.1. I get about 25 runs out of my c-rings before they really start leaking. Cost wise your $1,000 for felpro print seal headgasket and c-rings, compared to $340 for same head gasket and fire rings. Gms also makes a rubber like headgasket that’s much cheaper and have $150 in headgasket and fire rings. Needles to say I’ll be putting new sleeves in mine this winter that are cut for fire rings. This is My experience with both of them.

Re: IH Fire rings September 08, 2022 02:18AM
Nick Thieman