Engine dyno March 11, 2011 04:15AM
Was thinking about installing an engine dyno in our shop next winter. We were wondering which one to buy, as we have no experience with one. We want something that can handle up to 1300 hp. I would like your input on this. Thanks.

Re: Engine dyno March 11, 2011 06:40AM
If you want the best get a stuska, with dpac electronics and controls.

Re: Engine dyno March 11, 2011 12:10PM
Why only 1300? Seems like you may be limiting yourself.

Re: Engine dyno March 11, 2011 11:38PM
What are you looking to test?

Re: Engine dyno March 12, 2011 01:41AM
Get in touch with Dick Locke at Land and Sea www.land-and-sea.com Their DYNOmite range goes from RC-engine dynos to 6000hp... I don't know if they have the best dyno's, since I have no experience with others... but their customer support has to be one of the best! They allways answer right away when you have a question...and beleive me, you will have questions before you are ready to do your first test run!
This is a video of our set up: [www.youtube.com]
A couple of more videos and some pics can be found at www.speedpics.org under "tractorpulling"
Christer

Re: Engine dyno March 12, 2011 02:11AM
Personally, I 'd like to connect at the flywheel, as close to the power source as possible.

Re: Engine dyno March 12, 2011 05:56AM
That depends on what you want to achive... if you want to know EXACTLY what your output at the crank is, dyno on the crank is the way to go..

Our set up was dictated by this hughe waterbrake we got our hands on. It is rated to 6000hp but max 1500RPM, so it could not be used without some kind of transmission.

As I see it there is three basic things that we will get from this dyno:

1.a way to start up, run in and load the engine under control after rebuild
2.it will tell us where our powerband is
3.once we have a baseline, it will tell us how much power we gained (or lostWinking) when we did a change