Todays Sled August 04, 2023 03:19AM
Just a topic for discussion. It seems the pulls are more of a drag race. Alot of time and money have been spent in the progress of hosrepower, tires and chassis. It has been very impressive. Sled designs seems not to have changed much over the last decade or two. Im not an engineer, but would a radical change to sled design help pulling? Has anyone ever tried to do that. Not lookingf for a heated argument, just a discussion.

Re: Todays Sled August 04, 2023 03:22AM
The sleds still stop them, seems like no one wants a pull anymore except antiques. Racing is what the people demand for the most part, not pulling in my opinion, but Life goes on.

Re: Todays Sled August 04, 2023 04:25AM
IF we want grow the sport it has to be exciting and entertaining, a slow sled is not what the fans want to see. A slow sled does not translate to excitement. A fast sleds that let's the high HP vehicles get up and moving and then brings to a fast safe stop is what sells. And I'm not really sure what you can do to improve todays sleds other than a sensor to monitor box movement related to distance traveled.

Dick Morgan

www.PULLOFF.com
Independent Pulling News

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/04/2023 04:27AM by Dick Morgan.

Re: Todays Sled August 04, 2023 05:44AM
I respectfully disagree. Pulling multiple weight classes, having pull offs, watching tractors lug it out for every inch. These are the things i enjoy watching most. I still would rather watch a good group of farm tractors battle it out with a true weight transfer sled then watch a bunch of high horsepower tractors that have to start with pulling almost nothing to get going and then be slammed by a drop pan.